GalleryPic (13)

The FIVB has confirmed the six teams per gender which are set to participate in this year’s FIVB Volleyball Men’s and Women’s Club World Championships which will take place in Betim, Brazil from 7 to 11 December 2021 and Ankara, Turkey on 15-19 December respectively.

Six men’s and women’s volleyball clubs are set to compete at the prestigious events in the hope of being crowned the top club teams in the world.

The six-team line-up for the women’s event includes:

· Carraro Imoco Conegliano (ITA)

· VakıfBank Istanbul (TUR)

· Minas Tênis Clube (BRA)

· Dentil Praia Clube (BRA)

· Altay Club (KAZ)

· Fenerbahce Opet Istanbul (TUR)


Meanwhile, the six confirmed teams for the men’s edition are as follows:

· Trentino Itas (ITA)

· Cucine Lube Civitanova (ITA) - replacing Polish club Grupa Azoty ZAKSA Kędzierzyn-Koźle

· Sada Cruzeiro (BRA)

· UPCN San Juan (ARG)

· Sirjan Foolad (IRI)

· FUNVIC – Fundação Universitária Vida Cristã (BRA)

The Polish club Grupa Azoty ZAKSA Kędzierzyn-Koźle, originally qualified for the event as 2020-2021 CEV Champions League winners, was unable to confirm their participation due to the challenges posed by COVID-19.

Betim, Brazil previously hosted the Volleyball Men’s Club World Championship in 2019 with the Italian Cucine Lube Civitanova claiming gold, Brazilian club Sada Cruzeiro winning silver and Russian club Zenit Kazan taking bronze. Meanwhile, the last edition of the Volleyball Women’s Club World Championship was held in 2019 in Shaoxing, China where Italian club Imoco Volley Conegliano claimed their first-ever gold in the event, while Turkish clubs Eczacıbaşı VitrA and VakıfBank İstanbul took home silver and bronze respectively.